Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-30-2005, 02:29 PM

Default Can someone explain Counting Outs, Hidden Outs and Redraws?

Can someone explain Counting Outs, Hidden Outs and Redraws?

i have SSH, and i kep reading it over and over and dotn understand it well.

can someone explain it with hands samples..

thanks
Old 01-31-2005, 01:11 AM

Default Re: Can someone explain Counting Outs, Hidden Outs and Redraws?

I haven't read this book, and although I've been playing for about 30 years I've never heard of terms like "redraws" and "hidden outs". Counting outs though is pretty easy. Here's what you need to do. Take the cards which are going to give you what's almost certain to win the hand for you. Say you have an ace high 4 flush on the flop. Now any heart's going to give you the win, we'll say. There are 9 hearts potentially left in the deck. So, therefore, you have 9 "outs."

Here's what you want to be careful of here. You want to make sure you're drawing to what's probably going to be the best hand. And sometimes hitting your outs may actually hit a better draw for someone else. For example, let's say you've got an open ended straight draw, and there's a potential flush draw out there as well. Now, if you hit your cards and they are the same suit as these flush draws, you could be in trouble when you make it. Some say not to count these outs, but it's better if you discount them. A rule of thumb, for instance, may be to give them half the weight, although this is going to depend on the situation. You never want to give these outs full weight though, and you always want to be careful if you hit them.

Hope that helps a little anyway [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]

KC
kingcobrapoker.com
Old 01-31-2005, 01:16 AM

[ QUOTE ]
although I've been playing for about 30 years I've never heard of terms like "redraws" and "hidden outs".