Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-24-2004, 01:02 AM

Default Need advice on moving up.....

I've been playing poker online for about 2 years now and have had some success at the low limit games (nothing above 3-6). I think the biggest drawdown I've ever had in my bankroll was about 170 BB or so, but at that point in my poker career, I still had a lot to improve on, and my game has since been corrected. Just recently, I started playing 3 to 4 simulataneous games of 3-6 and built my account up to $10K in about 3 months, and now I'm contemplating on whether or not I should move up to 5-10. The reason why I'm having such trouble making a decision here is because I'm actually a very risk averse person and the drawdowns bother me very much emotionally. The last 3 months, even with all the success, have been so psychologically tormenting that I'm taking a well-needed break from poker for the next couple weeks or so and figuring out exactly what I want to do. One option I'm giving myself is to sit down and make one last thousand playing 3-6, and then move up to 5-10 with it, sort of with the expectation that I could go through a 100BB downswing early and still have that cushion. I don't have any expenses at all, and I have a lot more money saved up than the 10K I made recently, but I just have so much trouble dealing with losses sometimes that I'm not sure I'll ever feel like I have an adequate bankroll. I know there are tons of people out there that have much more of a stomach for this than I do and are more willing to take bigger losses relative to their net worth, and I was just wondering if anyone has any suggestions on whether or not I should move up, not only from a money management perspective, but also if you have info on the differences between the 3-6 and 5-10 games on Party, I'd like to hear that too. Thanks.
Old 03-24-2004, 01:48 AM