Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Other Poker > Stud

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-14-2005, 02:24 PM
TheSalche TheSalche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 97
Default Botched this one ...

In the spirit of posting hands that may have been played wrongly on pretty much every street ... I'm posting this one. Whenever seat 3 has had an open pair, everytime he's shown his hand or its gone to showdown, he has had two pair or better. Seat 0 is mediocre at best. I thought one of them would have trips.

7 Card Stud High ($1/$2), Ante $0.25, Bring-In $0.50 (converter)

3rd Street

Seat 0: xx xx 7[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img]___calls
Seat 2: xx xx J[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img]___folds
Seat 3: xx xx J[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img]___calls
Hero: Q[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] T[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] 5[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img]___brings in
Seat 7: xx xx A[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img]___calls

4th Street

Seat 0: xx xx 7[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] 7[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img]___bets double
Seat 3: xx xx J[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] T[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img]___calls
Hero: Q[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] T[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] 5[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] Q[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img]___calls
Seat 7: xx xx A[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] 3[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img]___calls

5th Street

Seat 0: xx xx 7[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] 7[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] 2[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img]___bets___goes all-in for $5.50
Seat 3: xx xx J[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] T[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] Q[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img]___calls___calls
Hero: Q[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] T[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] 5[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] Q[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] 5[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img]___raises___calls
Seat 7: xx xx A[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] 3[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] K[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img]___folds

6th Street

Seat 0: xx xx 7[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] 7[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] 2[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] 9[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img]___all-in
Seat 3: xx xx J[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] T[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] Q[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] T[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img]___bets
Hero: Q[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] T[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] 5[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] Q[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] 5[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] 4[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img]___calls

River

Seat 0: xx xx 7[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] 7[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] 2[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] 9[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] xx___all-in
Seat 3: xx xx J[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] T[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] Q[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] T[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] xx___bets
Hero: Q[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] T[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] 5[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] Q[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] 5[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] 4[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] J[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img]___folds

<font color="white">
Results:
$1 is raked from a total pot of $31.75.

Seat 0: shows 6s 4s 2s 7d 7s 2d 9d.
Seat 0: has 7d 7s 2d 9d 2s: two pair, sevens and deuces.

Seat 3: shows Ad 6d 3s Js Th Qh Ts.
Seat 3: has Ad Js Th Qh Ts: a pair of tens.
</font>
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-14-2005, 02:38 PM
PoorLawyer PoorLawyer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 59
Default Re: Botched this one ...

UGH.

a case can be made for folding third, but you say this guy is not a good player and he is very shortstacked, so I think a call is ok.

However, there is no way you can fold this hand on the river. If you think you are beat on the river, you are probably beat on 6th already and you have a dead out in his hand. His most likely holding is split jacks and you will win, possibly a straight or KK or AA in the hole, maybe trip tens (not likely with the 10 in your hand). I think the range is so large that it is a big error not to call down here. If you are going to call 6th with a Q dead, you shouldn't be looking at it as fill or fold, you have to do it with the intention of calling the river.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-14-2005, 04:37 PM
BTirish BTirish is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 128
Default Re: Botched this one ...

Well, you know what went wrong here, it seems. You can consider folding 3rd, but after that you should be going to the river (especially since the paired door is already all-in).

What do you put Seat 3 on that you think beats you? You hold a T in the hole; he isn't showing a card higher than a Q (and you have the other two of those, so he'd have to have the case Q or case T to beat you); he showed no aggression on 3rd or 4th, so there's no reason to think he has A-A or K-K buried. I think a low pair in the pocket or something like A-K spades is the most likely. You have to call on the river. As it turns out, he had total junk.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-14-2005, 09:28 PM
Mac Mac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 53
Default Re: Botched this one ...

Everyone's saying fold 3rd but there was no raise on 3rd. Call the river, man!!!!

- Mac
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-14-2005, 09:32 PM
preiserone preiserone is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Milwaukee Wisconsin
Posts: 23
Default Re: Botched this one ...

[ QUOTE ]
Everyone's saying fold 3rd but there was no raise on 3rd. Call the river, man!!!!

[/ QUOTE ]
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-14-2005, 10:19 PM
beta1607 beta1607 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 101
Default Re: Botched this one ...

When you make your decision on 4th to call with Seat 0 being so short stacked then you must get to showdown unless Seat 3 catches well enough that you can't beat his board.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-14-2005, 10:42 PM
benwood benwood is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 90
Default Re: Botched this one ...

4th:Is it worth raising to get seat out?I don't think so.
5th:Re-raise to start a side pot with seat 3.The order in which he hit his cards don't make him look like a straight.To have a straight now he had to start with(AK)J,(K9)J,or(98)J.
Not very likely starting hands. And his J's &amp;10's are pretty dead.
River:Call.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-15-2005, 03:33 AM
Spladle Master Spladle Master is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 374
Default Re: Botched this one ...

Terrible.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-15-2005, 11:44 AM
PoorLawyer PoorLawyer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 59
Default Re: Botched this one ...

[ QUOTE ]
Everyone's saying fold 3rd but there was no raise on 3rd. Call the river, man!!!!

- Mac

[/ QUOTE ]

no, saying borderline call on 4th when the other guy's doorcard pairs and he double bets
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-15-2005, 12:27 PM
Jeffage Jeffage is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,047
Default Re: Botched this one ...

4th street is a clear fold even though the guy is shortstacked. 7's are live, the A3 could be 4 flushing, the other guy probably has a pair. If the 77 doesn't have trips, he could still be winning and you have to beat the other players also. This pot is small and the time to fold is right now.

Jeff
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.