Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Internet Gambling > Internet Gambling
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02-28-2005, 05:29 PM

Default thomastem - 2 months as a Pro

As he announced he would last year, thomastem has gone Pro since the start of the year. Below is a PM he sent me today about his first two months as a Pro. I am sure he would appreciate any comments. Enjoy.

Going Pro 2 months in

Two months in and doing well. I am also studying sports betting to supplement my poker winnings.

The biggest surprise so far is that I have found Home Games to be a great seldomly talked about profit center. After reviewing and looking for reasons why I have come up with a couple.

1. Where else can 16 and 17 year olds play. A few of them actually play better than those a little older but for the most part they don't have the experience, mental toughness, or value of money which improve as we age.

2. The same faces. Knowing how everyone plays and what their strengths and weaknesses are from hand 1 of the session is a big advatange over seeing a table turnover with new faces every half hour online.

3. Adjustments. Perhaps this is a product of multi-tabling but most players don't or are very slow to adjust their game.

For example on point #3 in NL if you know someone raises 4X pre-flop with A-K and A-Q but bets pocket pairs 3X pre-flop they become real easy to play. Further if you know that this player will fold if he misses the flop then playing him heads up with position is profitable with ANY 2 cards.

This is an example of a betting pattern and we talk frequently about picking them up but just as key is finding what players are picking up on us and exploiting. This skill is very rarely if ever practiced by multi-tablers.

Now I have an interesting hand that I played at the Flamingo in Vegas.