Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Tournament Poker > Multi-table Tournaments
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-15-2005, 12:47 AM

Default ($10+1 MTT) Tourney Theory, 3Hands, 1st MTT, and being a Donk - Part 1

($10+1 MTT) Tourney Theory, 7 Hands, 1st Timer, and being a Donk

I have recently invested in Harrington on Hold’em: Volumes I & II as I am seeking to get involved in NL STT and MTT. Ultimately my goal is to be able to play STT and a regular basis around the $10-$50 levels and show a modest profit (something to build my bankroll) as well as play in MTT and make it deep into the tourney. Already my STT play has increased greatly. I have also seen some improvement in my MTT as well, but now I am here seeking your advice. I have several questions as well as hands to provide. Keep in mind I am relatively new to NL STT and MTT, and have a strong back ground in LHE. After reading through both Harrington books, I also have a good understanding as well as some idea of how the advanced concepts work.

In Volume I, Harrington discusses that you ought to push your good hands (TP, trips, etc.) as much as possible, as the blinds increase fast and there just isn’t enough time to use a conservative strategy to try to yield a large stack. This hand came up early in the tournament and I have no real reads on anyone. The blinds are at 10/15 and I have seen like a total of 5 hands. Table actually seemed surprisingly tighter than what I expected in a $10+1 tourney.

A hand came up where UTG limped in and I raised in the SB with JJ. I got called by the UTG player and I bet out on the flop. He called and then I bet out on the turn and he raised me. Is this one of those times where I should be thinking “Not a lot of time in the tourney to play conservatively. Don’t get lots of premium hands. Blinds will be hurting in roughly 45 mins if I fold this hand. Time to push all in and hope for the best?”