Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Gambling > Psychology
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-24-2005, 01:24 PM

Default Beginner on a downswing

OK - clearly I am not an expert, but I definitely feel that my downswing is more a product of bad cards than it is bad play. It is currently around 75BB or so - I would ascribe perhaps 25BB to beginner play, but the rest is pure variance.

This is a real challenge - has anyone else experienced anything like this right when they started out?

I am finding myself getting A LOT of marginal pre-flop hands, hitting a reasonably favorable flop and then crashing and burning on the turn and river - or I will get something like JJ and raise then reraise, only to find an A and a K on the flop.

I understand if you are already well established that you can handle the downswing by focusing on your plays and by remembering that you are a good player - but what if you can't fall back on those? What do you suggest?
Old 08-24-2005, 01:58 PM

Default Re: Beginner on a downswing

I don't know the exact number, but I think the flop brings an overcard to your pair like 60% of the time. In any case, it's a LOT of the time.

Poker's brutal to learn because you can't really learn from your results. So it's difficult to know whether it's bad play or bad cards. Chances are, it's both. As you cards get bad, so does your play. It's a vicious cycle.

Anyway, 75BB isn't all that bad. It's routine for good limit players (I assume limit... because in NL we usually express it in buyins) to lose 100BB+ in a normal downswing. Don't get panicy.

The other thing if you are new: DON'T play a lot of marginal pre-flop hands. At the small and micro-limits, the best thing you can do is play a straightforward ABC tight/aggressive game. I would play no more than 20% of your starting hands. Then as you get better, you can loosen up.

Don't go to war with a squirt gun.

Marlow
Old 08-24-2005, 02:06 PM