Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Poker Theory
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-24-2005, 04:07 AM

Default Moneymake:In poker \"practice makes perfect\" True?

I've been playing poker for a few years now. Lot's of hours. I'm not a perfect poker player. Well, then again, I might be. I will concede that my assessment is a bit biased. Anyway, Chris Moneymakar in a Pokerstars Commercial makes the claim that "playing makes perfect". Now I realize he's trying to sell a pokersite to the public but his statement is an interesting discussion point. At least I think so. How many of you believe this statement (literally)? How many of you believe that by merely "playing -poker" (which is what Moneymaker is saying) one will become (or can become) a "perfect player"?

Vince
Old 10-24-2005, 04:25 AM

Default Re: Moneymake:In poker \"practice makes perfect\" True?

Not even close.

Bad habits are easily practiced. This applies to any skill learned, but if you're self taught, good chance you're learning and reinforcing bad habits with "bad practice"
Old 10-24-2005, 05:37 AM

You not only need books to understand your own game, but books help you understand the games of those who read books to understand themselves [img]/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]
So my answer is read even if you were a morphy or bobby fisher of the poker world and figure out alot of theory on your own, you would need to fully establish their theories first since it isn't based on perfect knowledge like chess is.
Old 10-24-2005, 11:58 AM

I'm with Pog0 and Aaron_C (no relation, as far as I know anyway). Good practice reinforces good skills, bad practice reinforces bad ones. I know lots of people who have played Poker for decades without getting any better.