Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Micro-Limits
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-24-2005, 03:27 AM

Default Preflop 66

I'm just learning, but I'm really enjoying the process. This hand confused me, but I suspect that it's probably not that hard.

--------------
Ultimate Bet 0.25/0.50 Hold'em (10 handed) converter

Preflop: Hero is UTG+2 with 6[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img], 6[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img]. CO posts a blind of $0.25.
<font color="#CC3333">UTG raises</font>, <font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, Hero calls, <font color="#666666">2 folds</font>, <font color="#CC3333">MP3 3-bets</font>, <font color="#666666">3 folds</font>, BB calls, <font color="#CC3333">UTG caps</font>, Hero ???
Old 06-24-2005, 03:29 AM

Default Re: Preflop 66

you should think more about this.

compare your first call of 2 bets to your second call of 2 bets. the first call could get you to the flop three handed to the flop, and you would have gotten about 2:1 on your call. the second call you are now closing the action getting 6:1.

which one should you concern yourself with? the first one. so fold the first time. the second call is necessary.

edit: there are times where the first coldcall is okay, as in you know there are 2-3 looooose players behind you who you fully expect to come along with you. most often you should fold.
Old 06-24-2005, 12:27 PM

Thanks for the reply. My thought process (or lack thereof) was like this.

Lee Jones says to fold the first one. SSH says to call it, if the table is loose. The table was pretty loose (preflop anyway). Lots of players would see most flops, and then they seemed to fold easily. So, I made that cold call.

I've been following the advice in SSH that says I should focus more of my study as a newbie on post-flop play. So I just memorized their starting charts and read the text a few times, but haven't really studied the math behind it yet.