Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Mid-, High-Stakes Pot- and No-Limit Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-06-2005, 02:26 PM

Default Outplay him or be patient?

Ive been playing NL for several years with alot of success. Ive been reading 2+2 for 6- months now and Ive picked up alot of good advice obviously, but there are several plays that I just dont think work very well.

I'll give you an example. You might play a hand where you dont think youre ahead but theres a flush draw on the board. You are planning to try to take control of the hand if the flsh card hits, by either a stop and go..or check raising when the flush card hits. In essence, you are trying to "outplay the guy" with a scare card.

In my experience, this just doesnt work except against the very best players which there arent very many of.

Heres an example:

$2/$4NL

Folded to me in the SB and I raise to $16 with 87 of clubs. The BB calls.

Pot is $32. The flop comes T82 with 2 hearts. I bet $30 and he minimum raises me. Normally I would fold right now. In my experience, I could fold to EVERY minimum raise and it is +EV. .....But I decide to call and if a heart hits the turn, I will pull the stop and go.

Pot is $150. The turn is a low heart. I lead out for $150. Unless he has the flush, he has to be afraid of me having AK, AQ, or AJ of hearts. He calls anyway.

The river is a non factor. (cant remember what it was). I check because he doesnt have enough left to bluff him. he checks behind and he has JJ with no heart.

Now , you might say "duh, you cant bluff a calling station". But in my experience there are way too many of these type players for this type of play to work. My normal game is to sit back and wait for when I really do have the flush and make this same play and I make a killing playing that way.

Another example of the opposite side of the coin.