Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Pot-, No-Limit Hold'em

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-06-2005, 06:52 PM
pshea pshea is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8
Default AQo preflop call, bad beat or bad call, or both

Home game, 6 players, I'm SB.

Blinds .25, .50

all players limp to dealer, dealer raises preflop to $12

I call, BB folds, next guy folds, MP calls, and folded to dealer.

Pot $37.50

Flop: A [img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] Q [img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] 10 [img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img]

I go all in 88.25, folded to dealer, he calls, he has me covered by about 50.00.

I show A [img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] Q [img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img]

He shows A [img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] K [img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img]

Turn, K [img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img], river 10 [img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img]

I lose, was this a bad play on my part, the $12 was a standard preflop raise for any pocket pair or big cards for the dealer, so I don't think my preflop call was bad, some of you may think it was however.

I guess my question was is this just a bad beat, or bad play on my part.

Thanks, my first post, love the forum.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-06-2005, 06:57 PM
amoeba amoeba is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 691
Default Re: AQo preflop call, bad beat or bad call, or both

its hard for us to give homegame advice as the structure is so different.

Here you were playing fairly deepstacked at almost 200xBB.

anyways, preflop call is not good with AQo. most of the time you won't make 2 pair+ on the flop.

flop push is good if you believe he will call you with AK AJ AT.

obviously he bat beat you on the turn.

flop push is ok if read on him is accurate but preflop call is pretty bad.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-06-2005, 07:02 PM
MyMindIsGoing MyMindIsGoing is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 41
Default Re: AQo preflop call, bad beat or bad call, or both

AQ has never been a good calling hand and especialy with that big of a raise. He has top pair top kicker, inside straight draw and a back door flushdraw on a shorthanded table after over raising preflop. He hits one of his seven outs witch is about 28% chance. Wouldn't call it a bad beat at all.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-06-2005, 07:03 PM
kongo_totte kongo_totte is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tullinge, sweden
Posts: 491
Default Re: AQo preflop call, bad beat or bad call, or both

Both. Fold pre-flop. Calling 10%+ of your stack out of position with a borderline hand is not good. And since this is his standard, and there is a whole table still to act, who I assume also knows this is standard for him I'm picking a better spot. Judging from villians play on all streets, I guess opportunities to stack him should be pretty common.

Why the massive over bet on the flop? Did you think villian would call such a bet w/ just TPTK. If you thought he would, I guess it's fine, but lacking the knowledge that villian is a total moron, I don'īt like it.

The rest of the hand is of course a bad beat. I guess you read him well on the flop, but I'm always folding PF and rarely open push the flop.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-06-2005, 07:06 PM
kongo_totte kongo_totte is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tullinge, sweden
Posts: 491
Default Re: AQo preflop call, bad beat or bad call, or both

[ QUOTE ]
Wouldn't call it a bad beat at all.

[/ QUOTE ]

Isn't a bad beat when you get your money in with the best hand and a dominated hand out draws you?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-06-2005, 07:11 PM
pshea pshea is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8
Default Re: AQo preflop call, bad beat or bad call, or both

My massive over bet on the flop was to scare away any flush draws with 2 [img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img]'s on board. (was beaten two hands earlier with nut flush, had nut straight on the turn, he caught on the river).

I guess it comes down to over playing my AQo preflop, even though I have a pretty good read on villian, in my mind he could have just as eaisily had a pair of 8's. Rough game, lots of loose callers, lots of sucking out, lot's of money to be made, but when I get a hand while playing with these guys I feel like I have to try and take the pot immediatly. Guess I have to work on that.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-06-2005, 07:12 PM
Chipp Leider Chipp Leider is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 22
Default Re: AQo preflop call, bad beat or bad call, or both

Villain isn't dominated, he's got about 8 equivalent outs here.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-06-2005, 07:14 PM
amoeba amoeba is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 691
Default Re: AQo preflop call, bad beat or bad call, or both

when you have TPTK + and villain is on flush draw, you want him to call.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-06-2005, 07:14 PM
kongo_totte kongo_totte is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tullinge, sweden
Posts: 491
Default Re: AQo preflop call, bad beat or bad call, or both

[ QUOTE ]
Villain isn't dominated, he's got about 8 equivalent outs here.

[/ QUOTE ]

Define dominated.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-06-2005, 07:15 PM
MyMindIsGoing MyMindIsGoing is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 41
Default Re: AQo preflop call, bad beat or bad call, or both

[ QUOTE ]
[ QUOTE ]
Wouldn't call it a bad beat at all.

[/ QUOTE ]

Isn't a bad beat when you get your money in with the best hand and a dominated hand out draws you?

[/ QUOTE ]

If that is how you define bad beat then I have them all the time too. AK was 29.6% chance to win that hand from the flop til showdown. The hand was porly played as I see it. Never ever would I call that preflop raise with AQ. And then overplay it on the flop. The only reasonable hands he will make villian fold is KK and JJ. If villian has AA or QQ or AK he will call. And villian will only be behind on one of them. Overbetting that flop like that screams flushdraw to me, and if villian thought he was up agaist a draw he did right in calling. Even if he thought that hero sometimes will have two pair and sometimes flushdraw and combine them he would do a positive EV move by calling.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.