Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Tournament Poker > One-table Tournaments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-29-2005, 12:03 AM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default $11 1st hand AQ v minraise

Seat 1: ($1,500 in chips)
Seat 2: ($1,500 in chips)
Seat 3: Button ($1,500 in chips)
Seat 4: SB ($1,500 in chips)
Seat 5: BB ($1,500 in chips)
Seat 6: UTG ($1,500 in chips)
Seat 7: Hero ($1,500 in chips)
Seat 8: ($1,500 in chips)
Seat 9: ($1,500 in chips)
Seat 10: ($1,500 in chips)

Hero dealt [A[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img],Q[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img]]

ANTES/BLINDS
SB posts blind ($10), BB posts blind ($20).

PRE-FLOP
UTG bets $40, Hero bets $120, 7 folds, BB calls $100, UTG calls $80.

Pot = 370

FLOP [6[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img],5[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img],Q[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] ]
BB checks, UTG checks, Hero bets $170,
BB calls $170, UTG calls $170.

TURN [K[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] ]
BB bets $40, UTG calls $40, Hero

Thinking: Was going to bet pot, and thot all I need to do is elliminate flush draws, and thot 170 would do that. Because 2 cards are coming, that's actually not enough, correct? Not that they'd have folded to a pot-bet anyway, but, just wanted to check my errant thinking with y'all. Figured on dumping the hand after turn flush card arrived.
tx
m
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-29-2005, 12:14 AM
wyrd wyrd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 47
Default Re: $11 1st hand AQ v minraise

Bet the pot on the flop. The purpose of poker is to force your opponents to make mistakes. By betting the pot, you either make them fold a draw and take a nice pot, or you force them to make the mistake of drawing to a straight or flush.

You bet small, BB maybe calls on a flush or straight draw, UTG could call with two overcards given the new pot odds (small bet, call, great odds).

The turn comes, giving you a double hit of not only an overcard to your pair, but also putting the flush draw. However, 40 into an insanely large pot is not enough to make you fold. So I'd call and evaluate the situation on the river.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-29-2005, 12:30 AM
ilya ilya is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Party Poker
Posts: 460
Default Re: $11 1st hand AQ v minraise

I wouldn't re-raise preflop, especially not on the first hand. First off you don't know anything about the raiser. Plenty of loose players at the $11s of course, so you could well be killing his range, but you can't be too confident about that at this point. More importantly there are 8 players behind you and you don't know anything about them. There might be guys back there who will put in a 3rd raise with AJ. And of course there's a fair chance that someone behind you will pick up a legitimate 3-betting hand.

But ok, you re-raised and things worked out great. UTG didn't re-raise, only 1 more player called, and you have position on both of them. The flop is about the best you could have hoped for. Your hand is probably good, and unless UTG has a set or a slowplayed overpair, he probably only has a couple outs against you. However, he might have a flush draw, and BB could have anything. Moreover if UTG has Ax, you only have 2 big-action outs. If he has an underpair, he's more likely to give you action now than on the turn. So make a sizeable bet, something like 250-300.

On the turn, you can't possibly fold getting over 20:1 from the pot. Just call & see what happens on the river.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.