Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Internet Gambling > Internet Gambling

Old 12-07-2005, 02:10 PM

Default More boring tax questions

Hi guys, heres my story. I'm 20 and I live with my GF and sister, I support them both. I have cashed out about 25k throughout this year, and its spent. I have 15k in my poker account. Which is cheaper for me, filing as a pro, or just filing gambling winnings? If I file as a pro I have to pay state tax+federal tax+ social security. Is that going to be more or less than the 28% tax I'd have to pay if I reported it as gambling winnings.

Also, do I have to report tax on my money in the poker account? I think if you do that its very silly, because it will slow me down from moving up limits, I'm gonna pay tax's on it when I do cash it out anyways, and if I lose it all, I payed tax's on money that is no longer there.

My plan is to just pay tax's on what I have cashed out, and pay tax's on the rest when I cash them out. My budget is very tight so paying an extra 5k for tax will hurt me very very bad. Or can they throw me in jail for 20 years over 15k(5k in tax's)?

Any help/advice is greatly appreciated, thanks guys.
Old 12-07-2005, 02:22 PM

Default Re: More boring tax questions

I got the same plan. See I sold a bunch of stock for a huge profit, and plan on buying a bunch of stock in another company with the money. If I pay taxes on all this money I made on the stock sale, then I won't have as much money to buy this other companies stock, and won't make as much when the stock goes up. That sucks. And if the stock goes down, or the company goes broke, then I would have paid tax on money I don't have anymore! That is crazy. So I'm just going to tell the IRS to screw off this year. They won't throw me in jail or anything, will they?
Old 12-07-2005, 02:34 PM

Hi, I guess you think not reporting the money is foolish. Fair enough.