Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Pot-, No-Limit Hold'em

Old 06-24-2005, 05:07 PM

Default My first hand post in NL

I'm a newb. Have played lots of limit but have gotten sick of it recently. I'm using Ed's short stack play for a few thousand hands to get more inclined to NL. Someone tell me if this is dumb or not as I have no clue. I discussed this with another poster and we both had some interesting things to say about it, but maybe thats just because we both just started playing NL.

From what I can tell this guy is a bit too loose and average aggression. The numbers are about 31.5/5.4/1.6.

Party Poker No-Limit Hold'em, $ BB (9 handed) converter

CO ($130.25)
Button ($57)
Hero ($24)
BB ($103.15)
UTG ($197)
UTG+1 ($100)
MP1 ($31.45)
MP2 ($98)
MP3 ($81.65)

Preflop: Hero is SB with K[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img], J[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img]. Hero posts a blind of $0.5.
<font color="#666666">5 folds</font>, CO calls $1, <font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, Hero (poster) completes, BB checks.

Flop: ($3) A[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img], 6[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img], 7[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(3 players)</font>
Hero checks, BB checks, <font color="#CC3333">CO bets $3</font>, Hero calls $3, BB folds.

Turn: ($9) 2[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(2 players)</font>
Hero checks, <font color="#CC3333">CO bets $8</font>, <font color="#CC3333"> Hero raises $20 [all-in]</font>, CO folds.

Final Pot: $17

Now I felt that a slowplay would pay off best and most likely get my whole stack in there. einbert, who I was talking to, thought leading the flop was better because it would indicate more that I didn't have the flush. I'm not sure this player is that smart though and I thought he would at least take a stab on the flop. So thoughts?