Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

View Poll Results: What is the maximum stack size you would push here?
1500 2 16.67%
1350 1 8.33%
1200 0 0%
1050 2 16.67%
900 1 8.33%
750 3 25.00%
600 1 8.33%
450 1 8.33%
300 1 8.33%
Voters: 12. You may not vote on this poll

Old 11-03-2005, 04:47 PM

Default tell me where to start

i play limit exclusively. its fun. lots of swings. i get to value bet A high. you know, the good stuff. but a friend of mine who plays very high stakes NL told me that im better off playing NL (i.e. he was making more last year at 10/20 NL than I am making at 20/40-30/60 now)

so i started playing NL yesterday, mostly party 5/10 and 3/6. do you think i jumped in too deep? what limits etc should i start at? (PS i have very little experience with NL):
Old 11-03-2005, 04:54 PM

Default Re: tell me where to start

I don't have much of an answer. I like to get stacked at the 2k party games when I can't find any good LHE games though.
Old 11-03-2005, 04:56 PM

[ QUOTE ]
I don't have much of an answer. I like to get stacked at the 2k party games when I can't find any good LHE games though.

[/ QUOTE ]

i saw you at my favorite high stakes LHE game yesterday and I was very sad [img]/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]. it's like watching my table EV go down the drain.
Old 11-03-2005, 04:59 PM

hey baron -

whenever I'm bored of limit I crack open a couple 2/4 tables and I feel like one of the better players at the table. I've probably played > 200 hours of live no limit cash games however.

I'm planning on making a similar move in a couple of months, you're probably going to get a PM from me with questions around then.
Old 11-03-2005, 11:02 PM

Given how much sucess ou have had with limit recently, i would stick that out for a little while longer as it will take some time for your NL EV to approach your limit EV. Just a thought.