Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Mid-, High-Stakes Pot- and No-Limit Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02-11-2004, 04:47 PM

Default No limit newbie basics. Help me out here.

So, I'm just starting out in no limit, and I'm enjoying it. I have some seemingly basic questions to ask though. The game I play is the .50/1 blind NL game at Poker Stars.

1) The Buy-in. I bought in for $25 and have been told that this is really too little. Part of the reason is that it limits my loss, but it also limits my gains. Should I be buying in for the max $100, or would $50 be okay? Part of the reason I only bought in for $25 relates to number 2.

2) All-in bets and playing scared. The reason I didn't play NL earlier is that I was afraid to make a big mistake and lose my entire stack. Should I not be afraid to put in my entire stack when I don't have the nuts? Facing all-in bets without the nuts can be a problem for me. That's part of the reason I don't like to buy in for the max, for fear that it can all disappear in one hand. How should I adjust to this?

3) Bet sizes. When I've raised, it's usually been for $3 preflop (too little)?. If there are more than 1 limper, I'll make it more. This assumes I have a high pocket pair or AK or AQ. On the flop, if I intend to raise, it will be close to the size of the pot. Otherwise, chasers will have pretty damn good odds to draw. Min-raising is a big mistake, right? This morning, UTG min-raised to $2, then proceeded to berate the button when he caught his flush with 46s ("I raised pre-flop, he shouldn't have been in the hand" among other things). I thought to myself that he should have raised more, because calling $2 to potentially win $50 wasn't a mistake.