Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Tournament Poker > One-table Tournaments

Old 12-22-2005, 10:18 PM

Default ($55) ITM push, my heart says yes but my brain says no

Party Poker No-Limit Hold'em Tourney, Big Blind is t400 (3 handed) internettexasholdem.com

Hero (t3020)
BB (t765)
Button (t6215)

Preflop: Hero is SB with A[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img], Q[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img].
<font color="#CC3333">Button raises to t800</font>, Hero pushes

im new to STTs, is there some formula i can use to calculate my $EV if i can put in his calling range or something, especially with these chip stacks
Old 12-22-2005, 10:23 PM

Default Re: ($55) ITM push, my heart says yes but my brain says no

yeah go for it, you probably have the dude crushed...only thing though is the button does have a lot of room to call you. If you both had like 4k or so then there wouldn't be a question, I push. But I guess this does require thinking. You could flat call and protect. Check folding the flop unless it comes Ace or queen high if the SS gets tricky preflop and folds. I like pushing though and gamble for first if he calls you.
Old 12-22-2005, 11:47 PM

For what it's worth, I think this is a call preflop. While pushing is "playing for first," I would accept a very likely $50 in prize money for eliminating the BB, and then play for first.

Are you familiar with ICM and SNG Power Tools?

If I were analyzing the push, I'd start by looking at the case where you have zero folding equity, i.e. start by looking at calling an open push from the button. In that case, even if he's pushing any two cards the $EV of calling is zero. As you tighten his range, it just gets worse. Then, I'd try to figure out how often he has to fold to make the push profitable. I suppose I'd do something like this: he raises with x% of hands and only calls with y% of hands. Then compare the outcomes.