Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-14-2005, 12:49 AM

Default Help with notes

I've been playing for about 6 months now, Ive got all the Pokertracker nuts and bolts down, and I am in the 2+/100 BB range. I would like to step my game up a bit. The logical place is note taking, which I am admittedly deficient. What kind of notes do you make? There is the occasional "donkey" and "idiot" or whatever, but Im looking to emulate and eventually integrate the top players note taking style.

So basically, can you guys who take detailed notes describe your style or post hand examples, and then what notes you put on each player? I want to understand the thought process as well. Thank you in advance.
Old 11-14-2005, 03:16 AM

Default Re: Help with notes

I try to refrain from labeling people "idiot" and such, because even though I'm a somewhat solid player I go on tilt and call down with 7 high once in a blue moon. Generally I use the HUD stats to evaluate someones playing style. My notes are rare and would be for something like "tilts easily after big pair busted" or "called down my KK on AQKxx with 22 on 11/14/05"
Old 11-14-2005, 01:41 PM

Thats it, huh? Maybe this is in the wrong forum then.
Old 11-14-2005, 03:22 PM

I thought that you would have gotten more responses, but since you haven't I'll throw in my two cents.

1. Make up your own abbreviations that you (and hopefully only you) understand. Do this so that your not holding up the game and that yahoo to your left looking over your shoulder can't gain any information on you.

2. Don't feel the need to jot down info on each and every hand. I take notes only on a hand where I made a particularly good or bad play on, or if an opponent made a play that confused me so that I can reevaluate it at a later time.