Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Tournament Poker > Multi-table Tournaments
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-29-2005, 11:56 PM

Default I may not ever make a MTT FT

I may never make a mtt final table, i have been playing mtt's alot for the last 3-4 months, prob average 4-5 a week. I am yet to make a final table. I play anywhere from 5.50's to 20+2's. I have been knocked out in about 70 percent of them on races, have been knocked out 15 percent when I have had a big hand cracked, AA,KK etc...and then the other 15 percent have been when I donk out. It just seems like I can never get lucky, win the key hand to get my chipstack to the level where I can smoothly make the final table. I have 1 FT in PL Omaha and that is it....any advice would be great since alot of you are very good at mtt's...

btw i play mainly on stars...

Dougan
Old 11-30-2005, 12:01 AM

Default Re: I may not ever make a MTT FT

Post hands you have questions about. Without seeing how you play its difficult to give you advice. You might be playing too passively on the bubble or making countless other mistakes.

MTTs can be extremely frustrating. You can play perfect poker for 3 hours, have a good stack and then get sucked out on before the money gets significant. Just keep pushing your edges and you'll eventually have a breakout tournament.
Old 11-30-2005, 01:03 AM

Hang in there, it takes practice. Maybe stay more towards the $5-10 dollar tournaments so you can preserve your bankroll until you can make deep more often.
Old 11-30-2005, 01:32 AM

i thought the same way... but then i got lucky tonight and am in one right now... stick to it, and you'll make one
Old 11-30-2005, 01:44 AM

Another suggestion: Play smaller (field wise) tournaments. Aren't most tournaments on Stars 1000+?