Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Other Poker > Stud
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-13-2005, 03:33 PM

Default New to stud, help on this one

I have rolled up 3's and another player has 3 diamonds showing on 5th.

We are heads up due to 4th being capped by me.

He catches another diamond on 5th. His door is an A, so I am not sure if he has the flush or split A's (possibly rolled, no other people had one showing on previous streets).

HU we capped 5th and 6th.

Obviously jam if I boat on the river, but what if I brick?

FWIW, this was 5c/10c on pacific, although this guy did seem like he knew what he was doing as far as I could tell.

Apologies if its boring or routine, I just started playing stud online about a week ago.

Thanks.
Old 09-13-2005, 03:45 PM

Default Re: New to stud, help on this one

[ QUOTE ]
HU we capped 5th and 6th.

Obviously jam if I boat on the river, but what if I brick?

this guy did seem like he knew what he was doing as far as I could tell

[/ QUOTE ]

Check call if you dont fill up, i think you over played your hand here on 6th against a solid opponent.
Old 09-13-2005, 03:49 PM

Welcome to the forum.

For me, it really depends on how live his suit is. If three or more diamonds (apart from “his” diamond) were dead on 3rd, I would probably be willing to cap it. (Or if some diamonds popped up on 4th. The reason is that it is less likely (mathematically; if this guy really knows what he’s doing, he wouldn’t be playing a dead 3-flush, but I don’t think this is a good approach in a .05/.10 game) that he has the flush. If only two diamonds were dead on 3rd, it’s probably best to slow down to so much aggression.