Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-28-2005, 06:23 AM

Default a question about downswings

i recently started playing 10/20 with my appropriate 6000 dollar bankroll. i did well for my first 25,000 or so hands and was maintaining about 2bb/100. then this week i hit a massive downswing and lost all of my profit as well as another 50bb... my question is how unusual is that? i know 300bb is supposed to be sufficient... however within this downswing i've seemingly went from 600bb to less than 300bb which seems really unlikely. this whole thing has me kinda spooked in the head even though i'm essentially 100% confident in my play throughout it.
Old 10-28-2005, 06:25 AM

Default Re: a question about downswings

2BB/100 over 25000 hands is 500BB. so if you went on a 550BB downswing at 10/20, its not normal. even a 350BB downswing isnt normal. i suggest working on your game.

but they do happen.
Old 10-28-2005, 07:02 AM

Like the baron says its either your game or one in a million bad luck.
Old 10-28-2005, 08:01 AM

Adam22
I am also looking for an answer to this question. Although my story is a little less hardluck than yours, everytime I win over a decent period I have a huge downswing and lose it all back. Of course there is about a million bad beats but I find my main problem is I play good hands and the flop NEVER hits me, or I hit a good hand but someone hits something slightly better. While I adjust to different tables I end up playing low 20% of flops. I keep notes on players...... all that stuff. I play 6 handed mostly which might be my problem
as I'm probably not aggressive enough for that.
Old 10-28-2005, 08:10 AM

[ QUOTE ]
Of course there is about a million bad beats but I find my main problem is I play good hands and the flop NEVER hits me, or I hit a good hand but someone hits something slightly better.

[/ QUOTE ]