Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-03-2005, 11:34 AM

Default Dropping AKos preflop

I've never done this before. But being on the small blind, I thought it was a good play. Am I an idiot or actually learning?

MP1 is 25/8.3 after 12 hands. Button is 50/6.25 after 48 hands.

Party Poker 2/4 Hold'em (8 handed) converter

Preflop: Hero is SB with A[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img], K[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img].
<font color="#666666">2 folds</font>, <font color="#CC3333">MP1 raises</font>, MP2 calls, <font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, <font color="#CC3333">Button 3-bets</font>, <font color="#666666">2 folds</font>, MP1 calls, MP2 calls.

Flop: (10.50 SB) 8[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img], A[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img], 7[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(3 players)</font>
MP1 checks, MP2 checks, <font color="#CC3333">Button bets</font>, MP1 calls, MP2 folds.

Obviously I wanted in there after the flop. But was it right to fold AK out of position there?
Old 08-03-2005, 11:38 AM

Default Re: Dropping AKos preflop

This fold is too tight, in my opinion. Villain's don't have pfr numbers that are notably low, and your stats are over way too many hands.

My preferred play here is actually to cold-call two and a half here and then play poker on the flop.
Old 08-03-2005, 11:43 AM

So a cold-call over the raise, because we're probably not making MP1 drop his hand anyway? Hmmm. That doesn't sound that bad. Jones and SSHE just seem so adamant about AKs being worth the cap, but none of the hand charts seem to advocate playing AKos in this spot. Yes, I AM trying to wean myself off the hand charts, that's one of the reasons I posted this.
Old 08-03-2005, 11:48 AM