Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-02-2005, 12:07 PM

Default Waiting for the Turn to Protect Your Hand (ala SSHE)

Party Poker 1/2 Hold'em (10 handed) converter

Im new at the table, and havnt played many hands.

Preflop: Oblivious is Button with J[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img], T[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img].
<font color="#666666">2 folds</font>, UTG+2 calls, <font color="#666666">2 folds</font>, MP3 calls, <font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, Oblivious calls, <font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, BB checks.

Raising prelop seems like an okay option since you have position and a hand that will play well multiway

Flop: (4.50 SB) J[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img], T[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img], 2[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(4 players)</font>

Thats a rather scary board, I ought to bet to protect my hand, assuming Im already good of course. If the opponent on my right bets into me on the flop, I should consider waiting until the turn to raise so I can more effectively protect my hand

BB checks, <font color="#CC3333">UTG+2 bets</font>, MP3 folds, Oblivious calls, BB calls.

Turn: (3.75 BB) 3[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(3 players)</font>

Good, no heart. Now lets hope my buddy bets into me again so I can shut out the BB with a raise

BB checks, <font color="#CC3333">UTG+2 bets</font>, <font color="#CC3333">Oblivious raises</font>, BB folds, UTG+2 calls.