Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Tournament Poker > Multi-table Tournaments
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-22-2005, 09:44 PM

Default pre-flop decision

Party Poker No-Limit Hold'em Tourney, Big Blind is t1500 (9 handed) converter

UTG (t25827)
UTG+1 (t22592)
Hero (t22884)
MP2 (t18170)
MP3 (t20863)
CO (t6294)
Button (t5151)
SB (t29582)
BB (t29541)

Preflop: Hero is MP1 with T[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img], T[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img].
UTG calls t1500, UTG+1 calls t1500, Hero calls t1500, <font color="#666666">4 folds</font>, SB completes, BB checks.

Flop: (t7500) A[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img], 7[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img], 2[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(5 players)</font>
SB checks, BB checks, UTG checks, Hero folds, SB folds, BB folds, UTG folds.

Final Pot: t7500

i'm new to table, no real reads yet.
anybody else hate the limp?
Old 10-22-2005, 09:47 PM

Default Re: pre-flop decision

It's questionable, you're in early position so a limp isn't terrible, but if you raise you may take the pot down right there. If you do indeed raise don't get commited if someone comes over the top of you as you may be dominated.

The ace sucks on the flop, and at this stage of the tournament a good sized raise could put someone off A9-Aj even AQ, especially with that mini raise preflop he's bound to have an A.

JMB
Old 10-22-2005, 09:50 PM

I would have attacked the blinds and the limpers with that hand by betting 7500. Unless UTG was limping with a powerful hand because the table had been aggressive, he probably isn't calling, both blinds are most likely not calling, and I doubt UTG+1 is going to call here, although out of everyone he is most likely to call.