Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Tournament Poker > One-table Tournaments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-30-2005, 10:30 PM
Dr_Jeckyl_00 Dr_Jeckyl_00 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 222
Default $11 AK... L3

How do you proceed here... villain seems average, not too fishy, not too strong

Seat 4 is the button
Total number of players : 8
Seat 3: Dr_Jeckyl_00 ( $1060 )
Seat 8: dart0322 ( $503 )
Seat 9: jjp2978 ( $730 )
Seat 7: BIGPIMPINCA ( $1185 )
Seat 4: bjTSR ( $1289 )
Seat 1: redwingwin ( $700 )
Seat 6: JoseyTails ( $1868 )
Seat 10: x_RedBean_x ( $665 )
Trny:18749138 Level:3
Blinds(25/50)
** Dealing down cards **
Dealt to Dr_Jeckyl_00 [ Ah Kc ]
dart0322 folds.
jjp2978 folds.
x_RedBean_x folds.
redwingwin raises [200].
HERO?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-30-2005, 10:34 PM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: $11 AK... L3

I push but overplaying AK is my biggest leak. So get advice off of someone who can play instead of me.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-30-2005, 11:17 PM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: $11 AK... L3

This may be way wrong, but I think I call. He's not totally pot committed, so if he misses the flop he's probably not pushing so....

He bets/pushes and I've missed the flop = I fold

He checks and I've missed the flop = I bet 250 into the pot. If he calls, he's pot committed, so he'll likely need something to call or reraise. If he plays back at me, I fold. If he calls I check/fold and I escape w/about 600 in chips. Not great, but enough to steal from other shorties.

He checks and I've hit the flop = bet 125. I'm hoping this will confuse and frustrate him. Calling would suck for him given his chip stack; folding would seem weak so maybe it will induce an all-in bluff.

He bets/pushes and I've hit the flop = Probably all-in.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-31-2005, 12:26 AM
jmillerdls jmillerdls is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 139
Default Re: $11 AK... L3

[ QUOTE ]
This may be way wrong, but I think I call. He's not totally pot committed, so if he misses the flop he's probably not pushing so....

He bets/pushes and I've missed the flop = I fold

He checks and I've missed the flop = I bet 250 into the pot. If he calls, he's pot committed, so he'll likely need something to call or reraise. If he plays back at me, I fold. If he calls I check/fold and I escape w/about 600 in chips. Not great, but enough to steal from other shorties.

He checks and I've hit the flop = bet 125. I'm hoping this will confuse and frustrate him. Calling would suck for him given his chip stack; folding would seem weak so maybe it will induce an all-in bluff.

He bets/pushes and I've hit the flop = Probably all-in.

[/ QUOTE ]

I can't ever see myself doing this. Maybe its a leak of mine...but I will either push or fold this depending on any reads. No reads, I push.

I've just seen AJ do this same thing too many times at $11's to not try and take those chips.

Messing around with a call just leaves too many situations to where I am folding the best hand. I just think that this hand gets more difficult after a flop once you both have 200 invested into a pot with these stack sizes. But, I am a pushbot, so I'm definately biased.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-31-2005, 12:35 AM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: $11 AK... L3

I just realized how utterly incomprehensible my post was. For some reason it won't let me edit so I'll just fix it here.

I call thinking that, because the Villain's not totally pot committed, if he misses the flop he's probably not going to push into me. Postflop I play it this way...

I've missed the flop and Villain bets/pushes = I fold

I've missed the flop and Villain checks = I bet 250 into this $475 pot. If Villain calls, he's pot committed, so I can assume he probably has a hand. If he plays back at me, I fold. If he calls I check/fold the river and escape w/about 600 in chips. Not great, but enough to steal from other shorties.

I've hit the flop and Villain checks = bet 125. I'm hoping this will confuse and frustrate Villain. Calling would suck for him given his chip stack; folding would seem weak so maybe it will induce an all-in bluff.

I've hit the flop and Villain bets/pushes = I'm probably all-in.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.