Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Tournament Poker > Multi-table Tournaments
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-28-2005, 03:49 PM

Default Pokerstars Deep Stack Tournaments

I missed these; I guess they're pretty new. I have a few n00b questions.

How long do they take to complete? None are still in the completed category except an Omaha High/Low. It took 11 hours to complete, considering the starting stacks and blinds this seems to be an acceptable amount of time, is this close to the average of the NL Hold 'em?

How much more skill is required to do well? Not that it matters too much to me, as I'm new to MTT and likely to play terribly anyways, but I'm still curious. Obviously the better players have a bigger advantage with deep stack tournaments, but are n00bs like me totally out of luck? [img]/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]

How much does the strategy change? I would assume you have more leeway to play more "creative hands." More suited connectors and skipping suited connectors and such, does this lead to more aggressive or passive play from most?

I guess they just seem like a fun way to lose more money... Anything else anyone want to throw out there?
Old 10-28-2005, 03:56 PM

Default Re: Pokerstars Deep Stack Tournaments

They are fun and a nice change from the push/fold late-game tournaments, but if you single table, they are not worth the time IMO. Takes over 12 hours to finish.
Old 10-28-2005, 04:21 PM