Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 12-01-2005, 01:33 PM

Default 1 year/almost pooh-bah post(very long, probably boring)

I don’t know where to post this, so I will post it here because this is where the majority of my posts have been. I haven’t posted anything in about a week and a half and I just logged on to see that I have been a member for a year as of yesterday and will be a Pooh-Bah soon. Anyway, here is my poker story:

I remember seeing Chris Moneymaker win the World Series in 2003 and being surprised that I found watching people play poker on T.V. interesting. I started playing right around the beginning of 2004.

I got suspended from school after my first semester in the fall of 2003 for three drinking offenses and still had some court dates pending in my home town of Chapel Hill, North Carolina from when I used to get arrested every couple of months or so for underage drinking mostly.

The DA was obviously tired of seeing me every month for about three years straight and told me I was looking at seventy-five days, thirty in jail, and forty-five in prison (This was only for a long string of underage drinking charges and one DWI about four years ago). Now a month in jail, I was not too worried about, but forty-five days in prison was not at all something that I was looking forward to.

My public defender got me out of it and I had to take forty hours of DWI classes and go to three AA meetings a week. AA was where I found my new addiction and prospective career, gambling, specifically poker.

We played in little cheap no limit games after meetings and my brother, who had been playing for years, taught me some basics and I started winning. I bought my first poker book, Super/System, and by combining my brother’s weak-tight strategies and Doyle’s loose-aggressive strategies, before long I was the biggest winner in these games by far.