Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Books and Publications
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-19-2005, 08:47 AM

Default Review of \"Poker, The Real Deal\"

ranking 8 +/- 2

This book is a 10 for total newbies IF they actually follow the advice in it. And when I say TOTAL NEWBIES that is exactly what I mean, ie. Pre WLLH. Why is the advice so great? Because it advises you to read books such as WLLH, HPFAP, and TOP. There is even a minor shout out to SSH in a footnote. The book also advises people to come to this site. In addition to 2+2 titles, Gordon recommends sound books such as WLLH, MLH, and Caro's Book of Tells.

Obviously Gordon is not trying to write the new treatise on poker strategy, but he is trying to send a group of people to the right information. Not that the book doesn't give a lot of information on its own, because it does.

Now, the advice is strong from what I can tell. His limit Hold'em pre flop charts are really good. Of course they are just Sklansky's charts published with permission [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img] But, that shows this guy is not trying to BS people, he is giving good advice. He pretty much gives straightforward info on how to play, and focuses on the fact that aggression wins in the end.

The book is well written and it covers most of what a newbie would be interested in. It discusses poker history, the rise of televised games as well as the author's poker bio. The author sprinkles the text with fun stuff like lists of the best poker movies, and lines from Rounders.

One thing I really liked about the book was that Gordon tries to cover all the key subjects (in brief). There are sections on limit (both low limit and higher), no limit, home games, tournaments, online play, and even separate discussion of sit and go's and MTTs. There is also a pretty good intro to brick and mortar play.