Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Mid-, High-Stakes Pot- and No-Limit Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-07-2004, 03:18 PM

Default why buy-in for less than max online?

I see a lot of buy-ins for less than the maximum at Party's $25 NL/PL tables. For example, someone will sit down with $10 or $5. What's this about? Shouldn't one keep the stack at the max, especially if there are larger stacks out there? Is there some subtle strategy in buying in for less than max?

4gapper
Old 04-07-2004, 03:55 PM

Default Re: why buy-in for less than max online?

Actually, the best situation is to have a stack that is bigger than the stacks of all the players who are worse than you are, but not as big as the player who are better than you are. In this one choice, most of these players have struck exactly the right level.
Old 04-07-2004, 04:03 PM

When I started playing NL (a few weeks ago [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]) it was at UB’s $50 tables. For about the first week I bought for $25 to limit my loss. Why I didn’t just play in a smaller game is a different question. [img]/images/graemlins/tongue.gif[/img]

Once I’d gotten my feet damp I started taking the max buyin for all the games I play.

So I suspect loss limit is on the minds of at least some of these players. Weird thing is I see some buyin for $10, lose it, rebuy for $10, lose it, repeat and rinse.

For some it may be a ploy. If the right circumstances present, they can just push and have the chance to win a decent pot while limiting their risk.

I can’t imagine a good player finding a strategy in this, but hopefully some of them will respond to your post as well.
Old 04-07-2004, 04:29 PM

if you want to gamble play a short stack, if you want to play play a big one.
Old 04-07-2004, 04:51 PM