Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Mid-, High-Stakes Pot- and No-Limit Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-01-2005, 07:37 PM

Default how bad is my play here?

NLHE 5/10
9 handed
Stacks: Hero (1500$), Vilain has about the same stack
Preflop: Hero is CO with 2[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img], 2[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img].
UTG limps. UTG is 30/6/3.5
MP3 (Vilain) raises to 60. Vilain is 29/9/2
CO (Hero) calls
Although i'm new to this game, i'm likely to have a solid image, vilain has to put me on something if i call a raise or raise myself.
UTG folds

Flop: 3[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img], 2[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img], 3[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(2 players)</font> Pot=150
Vilain bets 100
Hero raises to 300
Vilain calls

Turn: A[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(2 players)</font> Pot=750
Vilain checks
Hero bets 200
Vilain calls
River: Q[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(2 players)</font> Pot=1150
Vilain checks
Hero bets 400
Vilain calls

I don't like my play here but don't know what i should have done. I'm ok with my preflop call and flop raise. Maybe i should have raised a little bit more on this flop, as i may have raised with an overpair.
Then my turn and river bets are strange. I dont like those 2 cards, if my opponent has an overpair, he has now trips and is gonna raise me, or he has an underpair and won't give me much action or fold. Only interest of those turn/river small bets: he could put me on a medium pair (says tens) that would bet for walue turn and river (tough value bet on river if i had tens though)
So, should i check the turn and value bet the river, in case he checks with AK? Or should i bet both streets? Then should i immediatly fold to a C/R?
I'll disclose vilain's cards later.
Old 09-02-2005, 09:02 AM

Default Re: how bad is my play here?