Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Pot-, No-Limit Hold'em

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-13-2005, 01:18 AM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Am I missing out here?

It seems that this stiuation comes up alot, and it just seems like im missing out on bets here. But I also don't want to be spewing chips when a bunch of draws get there.. So is the turn check customary, or should I continue to lead?


PokerStars No-Limit Hold'em, $0.50 BB (8 handed) converter

UTG+1 ($61.85)
MP1 ($31.15)
MP2 ($51.65)
CO ($7.95)
Button ($18.75)
Hero ($50.30)
BB ($5.90)
UTG ($24.70)

Preflop: Hero is SB with Q[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img], Q[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img].
<font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, UTG+1 calls $0.50, <font color="#666666">3 folds</font>, Button calls $0.50, <font color="#CC3333">Hero raises to $3.5</font>, <font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, UTG+1 calls $3, Button folds.

Flop: ($8) 7[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img], 6[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img], T[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(2 players)</font>
<font color="#CC3333">Hero bets $6</font>, UTG+1 calls $6.

Turn: ($20) 8[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(2 players)</font>
Hero checks, UTG+1 checks.

River: ($20) 3[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(2 players)</font>
<font color="#CC3333">Hero bets $2.5</font>, UTG+1 calls $2.50.

Final Pot: $25

Results:
UTG+1 has Ts Ah (one pair, tens).
Hero has Qc Qs (one pair, queens).
Outcome: Hero wins $25.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-13-2005, 01:21 AM
EMcWilliams EMcWilliams is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Smithtown School of Business
Posts: 115
Default Re: Am I missing out here?

That river bet makes no sense. I play the first two strees the same way and bet about half the pot here and fold to a big RR.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-13-2005, 01:24 AM
stu-unger stu-unger is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: bluffing calling stations
Posts: 284
Default Re: Am I missing out here?

i prefer to bet this turn, so as to not let one card flushes suck out on me for free. also, if u r going to bet, dont ever bet 1/8 of the pot...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-13-2005, 01:32 AM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Am I missing out here?

so i fold to a raise on the turn, but what if he calls.. do i c/c the river, or still lead?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-13-2005, 01:37 AM
EMcWilliams EMcWilliams is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Smithtown School of Business
Posts: 115
Default Re: Am I missing out here?

If he calls the turn, Ill c/c the river depending on the bet size.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-13-2005, 02:02 AM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Am I missing out here?

You are not missing out here. Discretion is the better part of valor. Your bet on the flop was solid. With a 4 crd straight on the turn, combined with a 3 card flush, just how much can you still like your queens. You need feedback from your opponent, and all he's done is call.
I'd do my best to just limp it home from here.
Fold to large bets on the river, most of which will not be bluffs.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.