Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Gambling > Psychology
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 12-07-2005, 01:43 PM

Default I live in Fear of Downswings (and TILT!!)

I have been playing online (and homegames) erraticaly for probably a couple of years. I feel I am only just now beginning to play marginally winning poker--although maybe I am being too hard on myself. In the past I have tilted after minor downswings and so I have restricted my daily play to 1 hour a day. Playing 1 hour and focusing on playing as perfectly as I can and not tilting at all in that timeframe in hopes that my discipline will improve. So far this is going well. However, I am living in fear of that 200bb downswing or even 50bb downswing that might be just around the corner. I keep repeating to myself, just try and make the right decision no matter what.
Do any of you live in fear of this occurence?
-g
Old 12-07-2005, 01:49 PM

Default Re: I live in Fear of Downswings (and TILT!!)

Are you playing with money you can't afford to lose, or that you can't replace?

I'm not living in fear of a 200BB downswing because if I lost my whole bankroll I could replace it in a couple of weeks. If you can't, you should play with a larger bankroll so the downswings aren't so crippling and/or scary.
Old 12-07-2005, 01:51 PM

Every poker player does. It's the ability to control our fear and not letting it affect us that seperates the successful and the unsuccessful. Among other things.

As you play more you'll find that you won't get as bothered by the constant small (30-70 big bets) downswings. You seem to have the correct mindset (make the right decision in every situation no matter what), so hopefully you'll eventually be able to control the tilt. That's a very important step in becoming a good poker player.

Good luck.
Old 12-07-2005, 01:56 PM