Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Poker Theory
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-29-2005, 04:51 AM

Default Pro Players: What were the holes in your game during your first year?

I would love to know what your biggest gaps in your game was during your first year of playing. I've been losing consistantly for a year even though I read the books, play tight, get a read on my opponants, etc etc etc...I'm having a very difficult time identifying the holes in my game. What it seems like is i'm getting slaughtered by bad beats and rivered to death. Thanks for your thoughts and experience in advance.
Old 05-29-2005, 02:45 PM

Default Re: Pro Players: What were the holes in your game during your first year?

When I was new playing limit holdem after reading all the books and playing tight my biggest mistake was not making enough calls on the river. Especially against 1 player. Only after I started playing NL and went back to limit and became fearless did I start winning by calling down a lot. Works in limit tourneys as well.
Old 05-29-2005, 03:11 PM

Default Re: Pro Players: What were the holes in your game during your first year?

Wow! that's a great tip! I just read that same thing in Helmuth's book. If you could elaborate on what kind of hands you were folding, what the board looked like, etc...that would be great. Thanks again for the advice.
Old 05-29-2005, 03:11 PM

Cold calling

Poor hand selection

Lack of aggression

Not necessarily in that order.

Dogmeat [img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img]
Old 05-29-2005, 03:42 PM

Default Re: Pro Players: What were the holes in your game during your first ye

Do you have PokerTracker? If not, you really should get it. Some of the stats in PT can show if you do actually have any big holes in your game.

You should also post any hands that you have questions about in the appropriate forum(s).