Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-13-2005, 01:37 AM

Default Advice for someone willing to put in the time/money

Background: I've been playing poker for about two years and recently have come to the realization that I have some major leaks in my play. In the past year and a half, I've lost a fairly decent amount of money playing online poker. I feel I'm a solid live player (usually win in Vegas/Reno/Tahoe and with friends) - but my online play is clearly lacking something.

I feel I have a decent knowledge of poker - know about the right range of hands to play, realize the importance of position, feel like I make good folds, play the draws when the pot odds are there, try to steal the blinds occasionally and - all in all - feel like the fish always tend to outdraw me. Q7off beating my QQ, AA losing to 25off, etc. seems to happen every night. I realize this is part of the swings and I welcome this action. But, when it happens EVERY NIGHT and is the result of my losses - I start to wonder.

Anyway, my post isn't looking for the "you don't know how to play" or "you suck, just stop" - but more advice.

I have about $5K that I'm willing to call my poker bankroll and willing to invest to get better and hopefully start to turn a profit.

Assuming I control tilting, and play solid poker, is there hope for me?

I guess my questions are as follows:
1) Is there a limit level/online site that you feel is ideal for profit?
2) Are $20/$40 games easily beatable, or does play have to be so close to optimum that it isn't worth trying? Reason I ask - that's where a majority of my losses have come - so I guess if you find guys like me - it's easy to make a profit.
3) What's the best way to find the leaks in my game - would I need to get pokertracker and start tracking hands?