Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Other Poker > Stud
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 12-19-2002, 07:51 PM

Default Check, Bet, or Raise with Trips (Paired Doorcard) on 4th

In a structured betting game, with split K's on third, you raise and get 3 callers. Your K is an overcard to the board. 4th street - you make trips, everyone's staring at your board (KK). Now I'm always tempted to get cute with this hand, maybe just put in one bet. My question is, if you do anything but raise, are you screaming to your opponents that you've just made trips? Do you just bet the maximum and hope your opponents have a hand worth calling? I just hate that feeling when you bet the maximum and see them all drop to your board. Does anyone play this hand differently?

- MAC
Old 12-19-2002, 08:30 PM

Default Re: Check, Bet, or Raise with Trips (Paired Doorcard) on 4th

Mac:
I'm a relative novice to 7-stud (other than in a homegame), and I welcome the thoughts of more experienced players. That said, it seems to me that if you play a paired doorcard differently when you do have trips (different from the way you play it when you were on a flush draw or when you hit two pair) then you are asking your opponents to note and act on that difference.

Gino
Old 12-20-2002, 01:31 AM

asmall open pair you can vary you rplay as you would normally check it sometimes. but with a big one you always bet it as you want everyone to go out when you have nothing else, so you play it just like that.
if you are against some fools who will now chase if they make two small pair or aces then maybe give a free or cheap card. but too often they will pick up a big draw and later you may regret it.
Old 12-20-2002, 01:44 AM