Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Gambling > Computer Technical Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-16-2005, 12:04 AM
MagicMan08 MagicMan08 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 300
Default Installing new HD

If I install a new hd in my computer and don't have anything to mount it with...

Does it matter if I just set it on top of my cd-rom, or what should or can I do?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-16-2005, 12:39 AM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Installing new HD

LOL. Can't help but laugh at your post. I don't know but I wouldn't do it. I got 2 external hard drives. I hate installing things.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-16-2005, 12:53 AM
MagicMan08 MagicMan08 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 300
Default Re: Installing new HD

like will it over heat or anything along those lines? or will setting it on their wreck it? I will buy some new mounting stuff in the next couple of days when i get paid
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-16-2005, 01:28 AM
smoore smoore is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 924
Default Re: Installing new HD

plug it in, set it somewhere where it won't be messed with.... I've done things much like this in the past and the HDD won't fail if you don't bump it while it's working.

Hell, I had a "server" that laid flat on a table for three months.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-16-2005, 11:03 AM
CrazyN8 CrazyN8 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sweet Home Alabama
Posts: 453
Default Re: Installing new HD

[ QUOTE ]
like will it over heat or anything along those lines? or will setting it on their wreck it? I will buy some new mounting stuff in the next couple of days when i get paid

[/ QUOTE ]

It won't over heat - you should be fine. I repaired one of my old computers and had all the disk drives laying on top of the box for about a week (plugged in). Everything ran find. The processor is the only thing that really "overheats".
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-16-2005, 06:20 PM
MagicMan08 MagicMan08 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 300
Default Re: Installing new HD

thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.