Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Internet Gambling > Internet Gambling
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-19-2005, 01:16 PM

Default Besides the Ethical Implications........

....What makes players claim all of their poker winnings? It seems to me that the gvmt has no way of tracing this. I just don't understand, there is no way that the IRS can possibly know how much money is in my party account, etc. Onc you withdraw and it goes on your bank activity maybe, I'm not sure how it all works really, but if the money is just in your account, how can they know? Not saying it is ethical to not claim, just wondering about it.
Old 08-19-2005, 01:25 PM

Default Re: Besides the Ethical Implications........

I'm not a lawyer or accountant or anything, so with that in mind:

They don't know about it if its all on a poker site, and even if they did, there's a chance they wouldn't be able to tax it anyways. To the best of my understanding, the US can't tax foreign income earned until it is repatriated into the US system. There seems to be a strong argument that poker is foreign income, since the sites are based outside the US, but of course its a gray area, and there haven't been any court decisions on it that I know of.

I claim my winnings, but only to the extent of what I've actually taken off-site and into my bank account.
Old 08-19-2005, 01:44 PM

It is a voluntary tax system so you don't have to claim anything and they probably won't know about it. The one time you get audited though and see funds going into or out of neteller and start poking around is where it all could blow up in your face. That being said, i just file the EZ form without thinking about it.
Old 08-19-2005, 02:26 PM

I'm assuming that they don't know about funds on sites like Party. Could they see funds in NETeller, since those are connected to a bank?
Old 08-19-2005, 02:56 PM

Whats the EZ form?
Old 08-19-2005, 02:57 PM