Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Brick and Mortar
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-27-2005, 04:15 PM

Default 1-2 nl

hi im usually a tourney player but i just started playing 1-2 nl, what is a good number of bbs/100 to have? the game i play at has a lot of loose calling stations who are horrible at poker.
Old 11-27-2005, 04:50 PM

Default Re: 1-2 nl

Enough so you cover all the fish.

200 is enough to buy in and play and win good money. So, 100bb is fine.

However, I would want to be as deep as possible with all the fish. Especially to beat the rake at this limit live.

blake
Old 11-27-2005, 04:51 PM

Wanted to note that sometimes at these live places, the rake is so high on these low stakes games that they are UNBEATABLE. Even for phil ivey and the likes.

blake
Old 11-27-2005, 05:35 PM

I ammsue this is a capped buy-in game...

That being said this is going to be a very high variance game. Playing TAG and being able to get away from TPTK type hands and assuming you played enough hands you are likely to be in the 10-20PTBB/100 range maybe more.

So lets do a little math. At 1/2NL you will be lucky to see more than 40 hands per hour (on the high side here, but lets use it for the sake of example). 20PTBB/100 (again on the high side) for 1/2NL is $40 per 100 hands or about $16/hr without any consideration for rake/time charges. Just imagine if you had to pay $5/hhr time charge, leaving you a whooping $6/hr... Can you say fast food pays more?

Is 1/2NL beatable, in the short term yes, in the long term no, but who is going to play 1/2NL for the next 10 years.

If your B&M has a 2 or 3/5 NL game, get in it. The quality of the players will be very similar, but the money will be greater. If you can run in the 10-15PTBB/100 range then the game becomes much more realistic.

If the games you are playing in not capped, well none of this is relivent.
Old 11-27-2005, 11:08 PM