Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Gambling > Psychology
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-07-2005, 02:18 AM

Default I am becoming Weak-Tight! Help me recover from 275BB downsing

Hi all, just little bit about myself before I get into real question. I am a Japanese native naturalized citizen of the U.S.. I spent my life in the U.S. since the age of 13. Now, I am a 28 years old. I work in retail and don't make much money. Lately, I am looking for some translation jobs for better pay and hoping to make that into full-time job. I have been playing poker for little less than 2 years, mostly live games but past 4 month I concentrated on online games for more consistant and higher earnings. I started from 1/2 then move up to 2/4 and it was all going well. I made about $1000/month, including rakeback.

Early last month, I hit the downswing, I mean the nasty one. I lost 275BB in 6000 hands. This was by far the worst downswing ever for me. I kept 500BB bankroll and I won some of my loss back in the last month so I do have enough bankroll to play at 2/4- about 300BB.

After the downswing, I reviewed my hand. I certainly made mistakes, but I did not find any major leak that would cause such a downswing. I think it was a combination of bad luck and bad play.