Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Tournament Poker > One-table Tournaments

Old 11-23-2005, 01:59 PM

Default Bubble survival

$5+1 on Party. Blinds 100/200.

Stacks:
MP: 3130
Button (HERO): 1595
SB: 1085
BB: 2190

SB and BB have been playing tight and not very aggressive.

Hero is dealt [Qc 8c]

MP folds, Hero??

First off, I'm relatively new to tournaments having played most limit ring games up to this point. I've noticed I have no problem getting into the top five, but then I have problems. So, I'm trying to get some of the basics down for when I am on the bubble. So for this specific situation:

-what percent of hands I should be pushing at this point?

-Am I in all-in/fold mode here because I have less than 10BBs or would a small raise be ok (and at what point do I go into all-in/fold mode)?

-how much of a consideration is it that I have a slight lead over the small stack, specifically should I tighten way up and go for third or be very aggressive?
Old 11-23-2005, 02:09 PM

Default Re: Bubble survival

- Don't play the 6s, the rake is the same at the 11s.

- This is read dependant. You should take into account your being the 3d stack and the number of BB's remaining in your stack and when the blinds go up again.

- Pushing this is +EV. How +EV it is depends on the calling standards you've been able to ID through your reads. If they are loose callers, the +EV edge is huge.

- Standard push.
Old 11-23-2005, 02:15 PM

[ QUOTE ]

- This is read dependant. You should take into account your being the 3d stack and the number of BB's remaining in your stack and when the blinds go up again.

- Pushing this is +EV. How +EV it is depends on the calling standards you've been able to ID through your reads. If they are loose callers, the +EV edge is huge.

- Standard push.

[/ QUOTE ]