Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Gambling > Probability

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-27-2002, 11:46 AM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default 5 card draw on paradise

With only 5 players, is it ever correct to draw to a flush or open ended straight?

This is a great site. Am registering today.

MFL
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-27-2002, 12:56 PM
HUSKER'66 HUSKER'66 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Fort Worth TeXas!
Posts: 954
Default Re: 5 card draw on paradise

to properly answer the question would require a little more
info...if your asking in regards to Hold'em the odds work
out to be 4.22-1 on the flush (four flush draw) and 4.88-1
on an open ended straight draw...these odds are based on
the fact that you still have the turn and river left to see.
rounding these odds up to 5-1 you would need 5 to make a
proper call....that's taking into account that all players
will stay and call you if you make the flush or straight on the remaining betting rounds....you also need to calculate IF you make the flush or straight is it the
NUT'S?!?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-27-2002, 01:33 PM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: 5 card draw on paradise

I don't play 5-card draw, but what about raising as a semi-bluff? Does that have any merit?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-27-2002, 01:44 PM
Homer Homer is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 5,909
Default Re: 5 card draw on paradise

Yes, I think it is playable. You are 38:9 (4.22:1) against hitting a flush. If you are in late position and there has been at least one limper, I think it is definitely playable. You will initially be getting 2.5 sb's on your 1 sb investment. You need to recoup 2 sb's (or 1 bb) after the draw to justify the initial call. If the table isn't tight, you can probably bank on at least one call from 1 of the 3 other players. You also may be able to win without making a flush, by making a high pair, which increases your odds a bit.

As for early position, I'm not really sure. I guess it depends on the texture of the table. If it is a passive table I would definitely limp with a 4-flush, but if it is aggressive I might not, since your implied odds will be ruined.

-- Homer
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.