Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Other Topics > The Stock Market

Old 06-04-2002, 05:51 PM

Default my picks....questions....results

Hello

I am not a regular poster here but I do read most of the posts.

I am not an expert stock picker in any way and consider myself to be a novice even though I have made money.

Anyways….

My last post I asked what people thought of XMSR (XM Satellite Radio)

Most of you thought it was a bad product as well.

Anyway I followed it and shorted it like I said at about 16 or so in Feb. I am now happy it is at 8. I think this is a much fairer price and sold it at that.

My next predictions I would like your thoughts on as well

The two other stocks I now want to short are…….

PYPL (Paypal)

Paypal I think is still overvalued. They have horrible customer service. They have negative EPS. They are also involved in a class action lawsuit. Even though they offer a good product I don’t think they are making that much money. It seems to me they have a lot of competition now (firepay, neteller and large banks). I think they are branching out too fast and have to big of an overhead. The ebay market has been slowing down as well as an online gambling crackdown, which gives paypal a lot of business. By the way they are near their 52-week high.

My questions…..

What do you guys think about PYPL?

I tried to short PYPL last week on Etrade (it was up that day) and it said there were no shares available to borrow! I didn’t short that many shares. Why is this happening? PYPL’s volume is high.

I am less sure about my other pick. It is MCD (McDonalds)