Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Micro-Limits
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-06-2005, 12:25 AM

Default Stuck... now what?

Ok so my roll is $1,380. I consistently beat .5/1 and 1/2 at PP, by no means a great feat, but the winnings I get there are not really significant to my roll anymore. In addition I started playing poker to make real money, however I am still affected by the 2/4 stakes. I fire up a 2/4 table, have AK fizzle 3 times, my QQ get rivered and all the sudden I'm down $80 and I'm like "AHHHHH!!!! 80 bucks!"

What's the answer? I mean, I'm tired of grinding out a few bucks a night at micros and apparently don't have the mental resolve to play 2/4. Should I just give up on "serious" poker and play for fun every now and then?

Should I just become a NL tourney player (how I originally got into hold em of course)? What? Anyone else dealing with this sort of thing?
Old 07-06-2005, 12:27 AM

Default Re: Stuck... now what?

single or 2-table 2/4.
focus on very high-quality poker.
feel the thrill of winning a $100+ pot.
get addicted & fall in [img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] all over again... [img]/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]
Old 07-06-2005, 01:02 AM

Or play 1/2 until you have $2.4k. When you are grossly overrolled, it won't feel as bad. Do you bonus whore?
Old 07-06-2005, 01:07 AM

[ QUOTE ]
Or play 1/2 until you have $2.4k. When you are grossly overrolled, it won't feel as bad. Do you bonus whore?

[/ QUOTE ]

Uh, yeah, my roll is well, uh, let's say 1K+ BB for the limit I play now. I'll move up at 5K BB [img]/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]. Boy am I a puss.
Old 07-06-2005, 01:10 AM

[ QUOTE ]
[ QUOTE ]

[/ QUOTE ]

Uh, yeah, my roll is well, uh, let's say 1K+ BB for the limit I play now. I'll move up at 5K BB [img]/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]. Boy am I a puss.

[/ QUOTE ]

No your not a puss. You are just very conserv.... wait... yes your a puss :P.