Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Brick and Mortar

Old 12-22-2005, 06:50 PM

Default $2/4 vs. $3/6? Educate me

When playing live, I always do $2/4 when playing limit games. Tonight I'm going to Atlantic City, and I'm thinking of trying some $3/6 limit, which I've never done before.

I'm wondering what info I should know about ahead of time (e.g. differeneces in rake structure).

I'm also wondering how the players differ between the two limits, if there is an noticeable difference.

Thanks!
Old 12-22-2005, 06:54 PM

Default Re: $2/4 vs. $3/6? Educate me

Blinds are 2 and 3 instead of 1 and 2

I would NEVER play at 2/4 as the rake eats you alive...3/6 at the LEAST and 4/8 if you are rolled for it.
Old 12-22-2005, 06:58 PM

Usually the rake is something like 10% up to $4 or something, isn't it? Is it the same for all stakes?
Old 12-22-2005, 06:59 PM

the blinds might be 1-3 not 2-3
Old 12-22-2005, 07:08 PM

Yeah... that's it I think... been a while since I've played 3/6 [img]/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]
Old 12-22-2005, 07:44 PM

The rake at 2/4 might be impossible to beat. 3/6 is questionable depending on the competition, but can be beat in the right games. 4/8 is really where the game starts to become beatable from a rake standpoint.

Think of it this way: most places take $4 out of the pot on average. $3 where there is no jackpot drop, but those places are few and far between. Assume a 10BB pot:

2/4 10BB $4 rake = 10%
3/6 10BB $4 rake = 6.6%
4/8 10BB $4 rake = 5%

You would much rather have 5% taken out of a pot as opposed to 10%. If the pots aren't averaging 10BB when the table is abnormally tight, then the % taken out of the pot increases dramatically. Let's say you're on a table where, on average, 4 players call preflop, 3 call the flop, someone fires on the turn, gets one caller, and they both put in one more bet on the river for a showdown. The pot is 7.5BB.

2/4 7.5BB $4 rake = 13.3%