Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Tournament Poker > One-table Tournaments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-31-2005, 03:53 AM
45suited 45suited is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: up to the 22s and 33s!
Posts: 1,395
Default Fold AK to re-raise?

Early in a 22. No reads.


PartyPoker, Big Blind is t15 (10 handed) Converter on pregopoker.com

UTG (t785)
UTG+1 (t695)
MP1 (t1345)
MP2 (t800)
Hero (t775)
CO+1 (t910)
CO (t130)
Button (t1025)
SB (t785)
BB (t750)

Preflop: Hero is in MP3 with A[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] K[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img]
<font color="gray">UTG folds</font>, <font color="gray">UTG+1 folds</font>, MP1 calls t15, <font color="gray">MP2 folds</font>, <font color="red">Hero raises t60</font>, <font color="gray">CO+1 folds</font>, <font color="gray">CO folds</font>, <font color="gray">Button folds</font>, <font color="red">SB raises t190</font>, <font color="gray">BB folds</font>, <font color="gray">MP1 folds</font>, <font color="gray">Hero folds</font>
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-31-2005, 03:56 AM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Fold AK to re-raise?

I'd call and play it with position.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-31-2005, 03:59 AM
caretaker1 caretaker1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 73
Default Re: Fold AK to re-raise?

Fold. Unless you have an unusual read that the SB is uber-aggressive. This kind of smallish (2-3X) re-raise means monster way too often to tangle. I don't like a flat call for 25% of the stack either.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-31-2005, 04:00 AM
spikeanut spikeanut is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 21
Default Re: Fold AK to re-raise?

Easy fold IMO. You only risked 60 chips so far, why risk the rest for a coinflip in a worstcase senario.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-31-2005, 04:05 AM
stanzee stanzee is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 27
Default Re: Fold AK to re-raise?

play it with position??? position doesn't count for a lot since the SB is almost certain to bet the flop (unless of course he catches a monster hand on the flop). I normally fold to this bet, but since the play has been soooo bad over the xmas period i put him on AT AJ AQ suited and push.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-31-2005, 04:13 AM
stanzee stanzee is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 27
Default Re: Fold AK to re-raise?

You've put in a lot of posts.... therefore, i'm guessing you've played a lot of poker... is this hand really causing you problems? I'll give you a hint on how you can play it next time, taking into account party's 1 table tourney structure and the level you're playing... think about it.... how can you have avoid getting yourself into this situation in the first place? answers on a post card
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-31-2005, 04:13 AM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Fold AK to re-raise?

I disagree that a $22 player in the SB always bets out on any flop in this specific situation. You are getting better than 2:1 on a call here, you have position, and you still have 585 chips to work with if you bail for whatever reason on the flop.

AA-TT is certainly in his range, but I have seen AK-ATs in the range here as well (especially AQs).
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-31-2005, 04:17 AM
stanzee stanzee is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 27
Default Re: Fold AK to re-raise?

[ QUOTE ]
I disagree that a $22 player in the SB always bets out on any flop in this specific situation. You are getting better than 2:1 on a call here, you have position, and you still have 585 chips to work with if you bail for whatever reason on the flop.

AA-TT is certainly in his range, but I have seen AK-ATs in the range here as well (especially AQs).

[/ QUOTE ]

If you like chucking in 25% of your chips with a strong likelyhood you will be forced to fold on the flop then so be it. Me personally? I either commit all my chips now or i fold.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-31-2005, 04:20 AM
The Yugoslavian The Yugoslavian is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Orange County
Posts: 130
Default Re: Fold AK to re-raise?

How the F do I agree with Stanzee here? [img]/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]

Okay, well what I agree on is that you have to push/raise committed amount or fold....you can't call preflop here.

I fold....but I guess it's b/c I never get my AK to run into AQ-AT preflop even at xmas, [img]/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img].

Yugoslav
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-31-2005, 04:23 AM
45suited 45suited is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: up to the 22s and 33s!
Posts: 1,395
Default Re: Fold AK to re-raise?

[ QUOTE ]
You've put in a lot of posts.... therefore, i'm guessing you've played a lot of poker... is this hand really causing you problems?

[/ QUOTE ]

Umm... all I did was post a hand that I thought could be of interest.

[ QUOTE ]
I'll give you a hint on how you can play it next time, taking into account party's 1 table tourney structure and the level you're playing... think about it.... how can you have avoid getting yourself into this situation in the first place? answers on a post card

[/ QUOTE ]

Dude, I'm confident that my results match up with anybody else playing 800 chip games. If you want to respond to a thread, fine. I don't need the condescending attitude.

You know where you can put your post card.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.