Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Gambling > Psychology
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-27-2005, 10:47 PM

Default Massive Frustration(Not a Bad Beat Thread).

Don't worry, this isn't a bad beat post!!!

I'm a seriously frustrated. I've been beating the 2/4 and 3/6 games on Party for 3 1/2 years. My win rate isn't huge, but I've logged over 4000 hours of play. Until a month or so ago, I thought I was a winning player. Recently, I've been struggling worse than I can ever remember. I dug myself into a 300 big bet hole a month or so ago, but I managed a nice tourney hit to make that up and then some. In the last few days, I've felt hapless at the table. I had a couple of small losses, and tonight, I turned a small loss into a moderate one by going on tilt and blasting off about $400 playing badly at the 6 handed 3/6 tables.
I really wish I could blame it on bad beats, but I know the truth is that I'm not playing well.

I've always felt very discplined at the table, but lately, patience and discpline seem to be my weak points. I sit in my normal game, and either slowly bleed away money, or I get ahead 20 or 30 big bets and give it all back and then some. I stopped the bleeding tonight, so I am down about $700 from my top. That's 175 big bets at 2/4 where I spend most of my time. I keep a decent bankroll, so I'm not in any imminent danger. I've only had one losing month this year(I'm down a little for November, but it isn't over yet.) I am concerned. I recently bought Small Stakes Hold 'em and I've been reading it. I have identified some mistakes I was making, but the adjustments don't seem to be producing much yet.

Any advice greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Fitz
Old 11-27-2005, 11:41 PM

Default Re: Massive Frustration(Not a Bad Beat Thread).

Just concentrate on correct play for each and every hand, the results will take care of themselves.