Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Medium-Stakes Pot-, No-Limit Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 12-16-2005, 07:58 PM

Default Limp-Reraise with AA/KK in EP

Some background:

I play 400 NL live at Commerce. I'm a tight player. I'm also somewhat new to NL ring games. So I use the words "never" and "always" a lot. That's okay for now because that's actually how I play and how I intend to play until I gain more experience in this game. In early position, I'm extremely tight. I never raise AK in EP. I never raise JJ-77 in EP. I sometimes raise QQ. I almost always raise AA/KK.

Against observant players, this seems like suicide since they'll always know what I have. Against players who aren't paying attention, I'm still not that excited.

Basically, I'm a big believer that AA/KK are strongest when they get all of the chips in preflop (or enough chips in preflop that you're going to push on any flop). If I raise preflop and get called in at least one place, I now have to play a relatively large pot OOP, and for much of the hand, I'll have no idea where I am. A good, tricky player may try to make a move on me. A crappier player may have two-pair or better. A really crappy player with a lot of chips may overplay his TPTK, and then I have the unpleasant dilemma of figuring out if he has TPTK or a hand that's really worth pushing (top two, a set, etc.). All in all, a preflop raise in EP with AA/KK just seems to bloat the pot, open up bluffing opportunities for my opponents, and basically make my life miserable.