Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Micro-Limits

Old 06-27-2005, 01:47 PM

Default Passive Play w/ Puny Pocket Pair

I hate the way I played this. Didn't want to raise with the blind poster, and both blinds, CO and button to act after me, so I just limped, as if the blind poster had limped in, but I'm not sure if I should think like that, or treat this as more of a first-in situation.

Postflop, I don't know, it was late and maybe I fell asleep...

This table is very tight pre-flop and not very aggressive and tight-reasonably aggressive postflop. Villian is in first hand and is blind-poster. I am new to absolute and don't believe I've seen him play before, but the fact that he posted blind UTG makes me think he's not very good. This could be intentional on his part, of course.

Again, can't get converter to work, editing by hand:

Absolute, .5/1 8-handed

Seat 1 - UTG $10 in chips
Seat 2 - UTG+1 $36.41 in chips
Seat 3 - MP1 $23.55 in chips
Seat 4 - HERO $22.15 in chips
Seat 5 - CO $29.89 in chips
Seat 7 - Button $12.10 in chips
Seat 8 - SB $13.20 in chips
Seat 9 - BB $56.80 in chips

UTG - Post Blind
HERO - Pocket [5c,5s]

UTG-checks, two folds, HERO CALLS, 3 folds, BB checks ***

FLOP [9d,9h,4s] *** (3.5 SB)

BB - Checks, UTG - Bets, HERO - Calls, BB-Folds
(thinking he couldn't have hit a 9)

*** TURN [9d,9h,4s,3c] *** (2.75 BB)
UTG-Bets, HERO-Calls

*** RIVER [9d,9h,4s,3c,Qh] *** (4.75 BB)
UTG-Bets, HERO-Calls

I basically had just put him on a random hand here and hoped he was just being aggressive against one player. I didn't think it likely enough he had the nine to fold, but wanted to showdown as cheap as possible rather than raise. Should I have just let this go on the flop? I know it's a shame I don't have a read on this player, if he's the type to just charge at almost any flop.
Old 06-27-2005, 01:53 PM

Default Re: Passive Play w/ Puny Pocket Pair