Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Tournament Poker > One-table Tournaments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-28-2005, 01:12 PM
Jonathan Jonathan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 46
Default Do you call heads up in this situation?

This is a hand from a PokerStars $35 6 handed sit and go.
Its down to two players and my opponent has me outchipped
about 2 to 1. He is an extremely aggressive player, with
a high ranking on all the Stars TLB (yearly, monthly, weekly)


__________________________________________________ ______
PokerStars No-Limit Hold'em Tourney, Big Blind is t150 (2 handed) FTR converter on zerodivide.cx

Hero (t3139)
BB (t5861)

Preflop: Hero is Button with 8[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img], 7[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img].
Hero calls t75, <font color="#CC3333">BB raises to t5861</font>

Putting aside the question of whether or not I should open push,
do you call or fold? Do you think it is close or clearcut?

Thanks,
Jonathan
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-28-2005, 01:16 PM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Do you call heads up in this situation?

Easy fold, and no you don't open-push with the blinds where they are.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-28-2005, 01:25 PM
Wes ManTooth Wes ManTooth is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 349
Default Re: Do you call heads up in this situation?

very easy fold
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-28-2005, 04:38 PM
Jonathan Jonathan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 46
Default Re: Do you call heads up in this situation?

Why do you both think this is an easy fold?
What hands do you put him on?

For example, if opponent is pushing with 66, 55, 44, 33, 22,
A6, A5, A4, A3, A2, K6......etc. then its an easy call.

The open push, is very close. But if you assume that
opponent has loose calling standards, then SNGPT shows this
to be a marginal push.

I'm really surprised that both of you think this is such
an easy fold. Explain please.

Thanks,
Jonathan
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-28-2005, 04:45 PM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Do you call heads up in this situation?

Why would you want to get all your money in on the bad side of a coinflip? You still have plenty of chips to work around with if you fold.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-28-2005, 04:47 PM
yvesaint yvesaint is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: sittin on my 6xbuy-in stack
Posts: 690
Default Re: Do you call heads up in this situation?

[ QUOTE ]
very easy fold

[/ QUOTE ]
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-28-2005, 04:48 PM
Sciolist Sciolist is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: London
Posts: 167
Default Re: Do you call heads up in this situation?

You have 21 BB. Why on earth are you considering calling here? I'm going to be passing unless the BB is 600 or something - I think it THEN becomes a marginal decision.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-28-2005, 04:51 PM
raptor517 raptor517 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 7
Default Re: Do you call heads up in this situation?

[ QUOTE ]
You have 21 BB. Why on earth are you considering calling here? I'm going to be passing unless the BB is 600 or something - I think it THEN becomes a marginal decision.

[/ QUOTE ]

it then becomes a push preflop. holla
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-28-2005, 04:54 PM
Sciolist Sciolist is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: London
Posts: 167
Default Re: Do you call heads up in this situation?

Don't ruin my analysis please!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-28-2005, 05:13 PM
Jbrochu Jbrochu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 51
Default Re: Do you call heads up in this situation?

It's an easy fold unless you think a coin flip or much much worse for you against this player is actually +EV since he's just going to run you over otherwise.

I think the interesting thing is where you go from here with your pre-flop plays. What villain is doing IMO is trying to make sure you don't limp with marginal hands, so he can easily control you based on your pre-flop actions.

You cannot stop limping here with marginal hands then limp with a monster and expect to trap villain. Continue to mix it up by limping and raising with both marginal hands and hands you're willing to go the felt with (as well as raising with junk occassionally, but never limping).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.