Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Tournament Poker > One-table Tournaments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 12-29-2005, 06:42 PM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: (5$) 7 7 Should I push here?

Thanks for all your replies guys. It seems to me that there is a conflict of interest though, which I believe is a good thing and keeps the discussion helpful and intresting. Does anyone else have an opinion of whether or not I push 7 7 here?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-29-2005, 06:48 PM
Snarf Snarf is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Men should act like Men
Posts: 4,434
Default Re: (5$) 7 7 Should I push here?

[ QUOTE ]
Thanks for all your replies guys. It seems to me that there is a conflict of interest though, which I believe is a good thing and keeps the discussion helpful and intresting. Does anyone else have an opinion of whether or not I push 7 7 here?

[/ QUOTE ]

I'm pretty sure its a pretty clear/easy push w/77.

I'd only fold if the UTG limper was a tricksy player who had shown down limped aces or king before...or if a limp UTG from him means a range close to 88+, AJs+, AQo+
Even then - I'd probalby push 'cuz I'm ahead of most of his range.

Limping in w/77 - getting a halfway decent flop and THEN pushing - only to find out someone out-flopped you who woulda folded to your AI is distarous. Getting your dream flop and NOT doubling up is equally distarous. Playing for set value here is bad poker.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-29-2005, 06:52 PM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: (5$) 7 7 Should I push here?

ty sharf

I am putting this in my poker file for future reference

[img]/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-29-2005, 07:08 PM
Snarf Snarf is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Men should act like Men
Posts: 4,434
Default Re: (5$) 7 7 Should I push here?

you're welcome dude.

also - here are some bogus points to be wary of that other people stated:

"to risk you whole stack on..."
My question: what 'whole' stack are you possibly refering to? Someone elses maybe...

"77 is a slight dog to two overcards..." It is? Since when? Two connected suited overcards maybe...but usually a caller will have like.. AJ o and you're the favorite.

Also - you can only play for set value when you have FAR more than 7 BBs. The odds of hitting it don't equal the implied odds of getting the rest of your stack in...not to mention chip bleeding.

Side Note: I make so many chips off players limp/folding PP on short stacks...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.