Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-25-2004, 05:04 PM

Default Merits of playing multiple tables

I’m seriously debating the merits of playing multiple tables.

I have been playing online for 3 years now and for the first 2 and ½ years I played strictly one table and back in the days when I started their wasn’t even an option of playing 2 tables. Wasn’t till about year and a half ago, when people started talking about playing multiple tables that I even thought about it as a viable option.

I figured now way I was going to consider two tables until I felt my skill level was very good. Well finally took the plunge at the end of last year on the Paradise 3/6 and actually increased my BB/100 hands for those 3 months. I contributed some of this to the fact that I avoided some marginal hands that I might have played out of boredom when playing 1 table.

Beginning this year I had a 5k bankroll and decided it was time to move to the Party 5/10, 2 tables at once. I had an immediate +80 BB swing followed by a -120 BB swing, have never lost $1200 playing cards and this scared the hell out of me. Well I cut down to one table and had a fairly steady climb over 2 months to +300 BB for the year. Well last week decided to try 2 tables again and over two and ½ days dropped 90 BB’s. Cut back to one table and made it back in 3 sessions.

This brings me to today. Picked up Killer Poker Online, heard it was a decent book to deal with nuances that are unique to the online poker, and after my most recent swing I wanted some reinforcement that I’m not missing something. Well to make a long story short he subscribes to the theory that palying more then one table will degrade your results and I’m not sure which side of the fence to sit on this one, as I see a lot of talk of people preaching the value of multiple tables.

So my questions are: